Last glance

2013..

An untidy room filled with bliss, tears, laughter, anger, motivation, confusion, highs, sighs, smiles, byes. As I looked around, I felt the weight on my shoulders again. A lot of crazy things happened in the past twelve months. Honestly, need not use a balance beam, negative events > positive events. Problems kept knocking this year, often not alone, making every waking hour accompanied by a deep sigh.

I’ve thought of recalling every bad memory I could, but decided not to just a few seconds after. Why look back? Yes, those events made me stronger and wiser; but contemplating on those will only bring back the negativities. Instead, I put them all in a box, apart from the lessons I must remember and the good ones that made me feel alive again, and placed it in the attic. The latter I put in frames and hung on the wall.

Done! The room looks better and gives off a lighter feeling now. It’s time to leave this place and enter a new one. Tomorrow is another 365 days. Again, I will laugh, cry, sing, break my heart, mend it, learn. I took baby steps towards the door, preparing myself to leave the past behind. As I walked out and held the knob, I turned around and gave it one last glance, smiled and slowly shut the door.

Leave a Reply

