Kids are the best, naughty or nice.

I go to Vian’s each time I:
1. Feel so tired from a long day in school
2. Realize it’s too early to go home
3. Miss spending time with Vian [bveh]
4. Want to rest on their red couch
5. Don’t want to be alone in my dorm
6. Urge her to go home early for her not to be scolded
7. Get caught by the rush-hour
8. Or just dang lazy to move :))

But a few weeks ago, I had another reason..

9. To be with the kids in their house! :”>

They actually are an extended family. The families of the Avila clan have been living there altogether for almost 40 years, which is amazing. They comprise mostly of adults, her uncles and aunts. But three tiny creatures make the whole house filled with noise and stress, not to mention the joy they bring to them.

The eldest is Wewei, the son of Ate Pat, Vian’s cousin. He seems to have ADHD (haha ^^v), since he moves around like a catterpillar sprinkled with salt. :)) He’s extra playful and extra talkative, but Vian told me he’s only like that when there are visitors (aww). Among them, he’s the one you could chat with for a length of time, because he’s already six. He understands what you say and doesn’t get impatient too fast.

Then there’s the only girl, Nica. She, as they say, is not their biological niece, that pretty much explains the slightly cold treatment they give her. BUT she’s definitely pretty! She has beautiful facial features, very white complexion, and natural curls. Needless to say, she’s only half Filipina. But her personality contradicts with her looks; She’s an amazona. :)) Perhaps playing with boys caused her to be as tough as she is. Her real name’s Monica Alexis; It fits her! She’s like a bird as well, chirping every second like she was left alone in their nest. She’s high-pitched and easily irritated, causing pain in everyone’s ear every time she speaks.

Lastly, the cutest and youngest, my quarterback, Polo! I call him quarterback because he looks like that character from the game Zombie Tsunami. :)) He’s very cute and cuddly and shy and innocent! Plus, he speaks in English. (Oha?) I felt so touched when Vian told me that he was looking for me during Christmas break. :”> And when she got tired of it (because we were not in good terms that time :P), she told him I won’t go back to their house, ever. He cried afterwards. I don’t know if I should be sad about that, because that’s really sweet of him. :”>

One particular day, Vian and Wewei went out to buy ice cream. Bad as they are to Nica, they didn’t let her come with them. I was drawing something for a certain subject when I heard her crying in the kitchen, pleading to Ate Cecil, her babysitter, to go out. I took her and talked to her. I have a very soft spot for children; I can’t just sit around while she cried. I thought of ways to comfort her, that ended up in getting my papers and colored pencils out of my bag. I asked her to write her name and all she wrote was lots of letter As. :)) I also made her draw Wewei and their house. These are the results. Tada!

image

image

Cool, right? 😀 When they got back, Wewei criticized Nica’s illustration of a house and drew his version. He was kind enough to let Nica color it.

image

Hours went by so fast. As much as I hated it, I had to go home. Wewei didn’t want me to. He insisted for me to spend the night at their house again, since I already did it once. I’d love to, but I couldn’t. 😦 I don’t want Vian to get scolded by her father because of me.. again. </3

Before I left, Nica took out some of her things from her room, which consist of a pencil case, a dollhouse, a McDonald souvenir, an Angry Bird eraser, and few other toys. She said they’re all mine. Vian and I were dumbfounded for a few seconds, before we bursted out of laughter and called those my relief goods. :)) But I couldn’t erase the fact that it was so sweet for an innocent young mind to give her new friend her things. :”> I only took this one, of course. This will forever remind me of Nica. ❤

image

The highlight of that day was my very lame joke that the kids got so used to say. They now call me Ate Ganda and Tita Ganda, all three of them! Hahaha. What could be better? ❤ 😀

Leave a Reply

