“If I will be a teacher…”

This was written on the first day of our Teaching Psychology class.

If I will be a teacher, I’ll be one my students will certainly learn from but will definitely not hate seeing in class. I will make sure the lessons are taught in very understandable ways, unlike those who make student life the hardest part of life. Students who find it hard to cope up will be given extra time and attention. I will not humiliate them in front of the class. I will also make it a point that I will praise every single response or good act of my students.

But it isn’t all about gaining knowledge, of course. My class would be filled with fun and laughter. I’m not certain that my humor is enough, but I will surely give lines appropriate to their age brackets. I want to be a teacher my students will feel approachable and like a friend to them, but not to the point that they will not listen or obey me. I will impose rules and be strict when needed.

I will also give many activities such as role playing, reporting, and written outputs. Hard and tiring these really are, but these are what honed me into who I am now, and I want my students to learn the same way. They will realize the fruits of these activities soon after; I know they will.

I’ve always pictured myself as a high school teacher. If given the chance, I will certainly grab it and make all these a reality.

Leave a Reply

