Another Year

Last September 5, I was so busy, tensed, hyped, but not because it was my day but because it was another day to finish, submit, and defend our thesis. The whole team spent the night at my best friend’s house, which was usual to the PB’s. But in spite of the loads of work to finish, they managed to prepare a surprise for me. Twelve midnight, I walked back from my dormitory with my parents, lights were off, they sang and greeted with a huge box of pizza with lighted candle and an ongoing video from the iPad. I could still remember it like it just happened weeks ago.

Now, exactly a year later, here I am at home, past all the stress from college life, past pre-board, watching series and eating pistachio-flavored ice cream while waiting for the board exam’s results. Who would’ve known it was just half a year ago when I haven’t even have time to care about how I look or how much sleep I got the night before or what would it be like six months later?

I am just so thankful for everything I’ve been through, for another year I was granted, for everything. Also, I’m grateful I realized today that birthdays need not be extravagant, nor spendy, nor have lots of people to remember it every year. I woke up feeling bad about my family arguing, had just seven “greeters,” and spent my day just watching and eating at home, even a few hours alone. I feel happy to be 21 and contented.

My day’s ending in a few hours. All I hope is for another good day next year, better if willed. Who knows? There may be a good reason why today’s #HugAPsychMajorDay. I hope my family’s well and happy, my friends and I have stable jobs, and maybe, just maybe, I’m happy and in love with a man I deserve.. as much as he deserves. 

Happy birthday, my dear self!

I wrote this on my birthday. I believe in “everything has a reason” now, more than ever. #HugAPsychMajorDay truly wasn’t a coincidence. The results came the day after. Dad woke me up with the happiest tone of his voice on the phone. And, just two days ago, I attended the Psychometricians and Psychologists’ Joint Oath Taking Ceremonies. I could not explain the joy that overwhelms me. The road is still long. For now, let me leave you with these two words, I’M READY. 

Ma. Hyacinth C. Estidola, RPm

Leave a Reply

